Brent Ladd’s Trophy Playoff MVP Award

The Brent Ladds Trophy is awarded annually to the OJHL Playoff Most Valuable Player who is adjudged to be the most valuable player to his club’s success throughout the course of the playoffs. The Brent Ladds Trophy was officially dedicated on June 16, 2012 during the General Assembly of the 2012 Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) Annual General Meeting held in Windsor, Ontario.  A native of Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec, he joined the OHA back in 1975, initially overseeing the association’s officiating program.  Four years later, Ladds was named President of the OHA and he would remain in the position until officially stepping down in 2012, a tenure of 32 years guiding the organization.  He served as director of operations for Canada East at the first three editions of the World Junior A Challenge from 2006-08 A year after retiring from the OHA, Ladds was introduced a year later as commissioner of Allan Cup Hockey, the Senior AAA loop in Ontario.  He served as president of the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) from 2016 to 2023.  The native of Noranda, Que., who now resides in Calgary, Alta., has also acted as Chair of Hockey Canada’s Junior Council for two years and chair of the RBC Cup in Lloydminster in 2016.  Along with many other recognitions, Ladds was awarded the Gold Stick for outstanding service to the OHA in 1992, the Hockey Canada Order of Merit in 1997 for contributions to the game nationally and the Ontario Hockey Federation’s President’s Award in 2012 for outstanding contribution to hockey in Ontario

Year – Winner – Team

  • 2022-23 – Noah Pak – Collingwood Blues
  • 2021-22 – Brendan Tomilson – Pickering Panthers
  • 2018-19 – Spencer Kersten – Oakville Blades
  • 2017-18 – Colin Doyle – Wellington Dukes
  • 2016-17 – Jack Jacome – Georgetown Raiders
  • 2015-16 – Daniel Urbani – Trenton Golden Hawks
  • 2014-15 – Mathew Robson – Toronto Patriots
  • 2013-14 – Kevin Shier – Toronto Lakeshore Patriots
  • 2012-13 – Shane Conacher – St. Michael’s Buzzers
  • 2011-12 – Drake Caggiula – Stouffville Spirit
  • 2010-11 – Jordan Ruby – Wellington Dukes