Marc Mercier Chairman’s Award

“The Chairman’s Award” – first presented in 2015 – is given at the chairman of the board’s discretion to “an individual who demonstrates the core values of the OJHL, including integrity, professionalism, sportsmanship and personal growth, and who has gone above and beyond the normal course of responsibilities for the betterment of the league”.  Marc Mercier is chair of the board of governors of the Ontario Hockey Association.  He was a recipient of the ‘OJHL Chairman’s Award’ in 2018.  It was re-named ‘The Marc Mercier Chairman’s Award’ in 2021.  Mercier served with the OJHL for more than 10 years in a variety of roles, including governor, league director, OHA director and chairman of the board.  Marc was involved in tremendous oversight of the changes in the OJHL when he served the OJHL as the Chairman in the last several years in the OJHL.  Mercier was governor of the OJHL’s Cobourg Cougars from 2006 to 2022. The Cougars co-hosted World Junior “A” Challenge in 2015 and hosted and won RBC Cup (now Centennial Cup) national championship in 2017.  Marc is a lawyer with 30-plus years of experience who practices as a partner at Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP  in Toronto specializing in corporate and finance.

(This award may not be awarded annually, but only when the Chairman deems it worthy)

Year – Winner – Organization

  • 2022-23 – Larry Playfair, Buffalo Jr. Sabres
  • 2021-22 – Scott McCrory, OHA / OJHL Chairman / Oakville Blades
  • 2018-19 – Mike McCarron, OHA / St. Michael’s Buzzers
  • 2017-18 – Marc Mercier, Cobourg Cougars / OJHL Chairman
  • 2016-17 – Izak Westgate, OJHL / HHOF
  • 2015-16 – Tim Bates, OJHL Images
  • 2014-15 – Brent Garbutt, OJHL